The Freeman Scholarship

The Jean Freeman Scholarship is given annually to six collegiate assistant coaches whose exceptional contributions have brought recognition to their institution, and whose leadership, integrity, honesty, competitive attitude and personal graciousness epitomize those characteristics reflected by Jean Freeman. The scholarship will provide each of recipients convention/coach academy registration, transportation and lodging to the annual CSCAA Convention and Clinic.

To apply coaches must have a minimum of 2 years coaching experience (may include GA and Volunteer Assistant Positions) and submit the following:

  • Current Resume
  • Cover letter including
    • institution
    • length of time coaching in current position,
    • 1-2 pages describing your coaching philosophy and
    • rationale for consideration for the Jean Freeman Scholarship

Applications will be reviewed and selections made by a committee of THE SUMMIT (The Summit for Empowering Women in Swimming), of which Jean Freeman was a founding member.  Selections will be approved and announced by the CSCAA Board of Directors.

For the 2017 scholarship applications should be emailed by February 2, 2018 to:
Or, mail to:  
Joel Shinofield
Executive Director, CSCAA
1585 Wesleyan Drive, Unit A
Norfolk, VA 23502

 Collegiate Coaching legends - nort thornton, Jean freeman, gregg troy, ernie Maglischo & peter daland

Collegiate Coaching legends - nort thornton, Jean freeman, gregg troy, ernie Maglischo & peter daland

About Jean

Jean Freeman was a pioneer in women’s collegiate athletics. She served as a mentor and leader to numerous coaches (men and women) who went onto their own head coaching careers. Jean Freeman swam for the Minnesota Gophers from 1968-72 and then served as an assistant coach for one season. In 1973 she was named head coach and from there, Freeman took the program to national prominence. During her 31-year tenure, Freeman produced 27 winning seasons; captured two Big Ten Championships, won 208 dual meets; and coached two National Champions, 14 Big Ten Champions, and 175 All-Americans. Most of all, she enjoyed coaching over 1,000 student-athletes.

Freeman was one of the first women to become a full-time NCAA Division I head coach. Her many honors and accolades include four-time Big Ten Coach of the Year awards; over 20 ASCA Certificates of Excellence Awards; induction into the Minnesota Swim Coaches Association Hall of Fame, and the National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy, awarded annually by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America. She also served on the 1992 National Junior Team, 1991 Olympic Festival and 2004 World University Games coaching staffs. She was Minnesota Swimming's senior chair for many years, was a key member of the NCAA Swimming and Diving Rules and Championship Committees and CSCAA Board of Directors.

In addition to being a highly successful coach, Jean Freeman was a difference maker in the college swimming community. She showed up, spoke up, and got involved to do what was best for our sport. Her influence can be seen on pool decks across the country where she is remembered by many coaches as a mentor, which is why these scholarships in her honor are such a fitting way to honor her memory.


Past Recipients


  • Gia Wright, North Carolina A&T University
  • Anthony Randall, University of Rhode Island
  • Jacki Hirsty, Assumption College
  • Pieter Ritz, Henderson State University
  • Kim Lloyd, Colby-Sawyer College
  • Andrew Bretscher, Frostburg State University


  • Christopher Maiello, United States Naval Academy
  • April Woo, Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Benjamin Hewitt, Nova Southeastern University
  • Kathryn McNerney, Millersville University
  • Andrew Beggs, Swarthmore College
  • Maya Hamilton, St. Olaf College


  • Jesse Moore, College of William and Mary
  • Katie Robinson, Rutgers
  • Shane Pelton, University of Bridgeport
  • Stephanie Palmeri, Long Island University-CW Post Campus
  • Christopher Sullivan, Colorado College
  • Karin Brown, Amherst College


  • Morgan Cooper, Smith College
  • Jerry Cummiskey, Bryant University
  • David Dow, Williams
  • Lisa Ginder, Fordham University
  • Rebecca Weiland, St. Cloud State University
  • Paulina Ziolek, University of Texas


  • Carlye Ellis, Cornell University
  • Thomas Limouze, Swarthmore College
  • Kayla McCormick, Minnesota State, Mankato
  • Doug Schranck, Drury University
  • Milana Socha, Smith College
  • Sarah Woodbury, Tulane University


  • Tracy Martin, Eastern Michigan University
  • Jessica Hessell, Truman State University
  • Aleta Kolan, Macalester College
  • Kyle Berg, Florida Atlantic University
  • Paul Hughes, Kalamazoo College
  • Franco Pacheco, Colby College