Youngstown State Bringing Back Men

New Programs for 2019-20 Season

  • Division I

    • Youngstown State (Men)

  • Division II

    • Adams State University (Men)

    • Assumption College (Men)

    • Montevallo (Men & Women)

  • Division III

    • Medaille (Men & Women)

    • Milsaps (Men & Women)

    • Lynchburg (Men & Women)

  • NAIA

    • Bethel College-IN (Men & Women)

    • Judson (Men & Women)

    • Simpson (Men & Women)

    • Westmont (Women)

Youngstown State will bring back men's swimming and diving for the first time since 1984. The program will begin competition in the Fall and is one of nine new men’s teams slated for the 2019-20 season. Most notably, Youngstown State becomes first new Division I men’s program since Mount St. Mary’s University added 2017 and the second public institution to announce the return of a men’s team (along with Adams State) in the past two weeks.

Executive Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Ron Strollo announced the decision on Monday:

"We're excited about this new opportunity to recruit high school students from Ohio, the region and internationally to pursue their academic and athletic goals at Youngstown State in both sports," Strollo said. "Our swimming facility is one of the best in the area and we look forward to showcasing it with both our men's and women's programs. The growth of women's lacrosse in Ohio and throughout the Midwest has seen an increased number of schools sponsor the sport and we are thrilled to add it at Youngstown State."

CSCAA Executive Director Greg Earhart explained that the addition of a men’s team makes sense given the facility and Ohio’s position as the nation’s 8th largest high school swimming population. “Adding a men’s team will offer Youngstown State multiple benefits. These include appealing to a higher-caliber of student, making their women’s team more competitive, and garnering community support.”

From 2016 to 2018 – 83% (73 of 88) of conference titles were won by co-ed programs

From 2016 to 2018 – 83% (73 of 88) of conference titles were won by co-ed programs